MK-Alpha

subtxtlamg

subtxt

research&development initiative

The inaugural subtxt took place in August 2015.

The festival featured:

  • development on 10 new Australian performance texts
  • 6 public playreadings
  • 3 public new-work showings
  • panels and discussions
  • an overnight event ‘Cremation’ co-presented with multinational performance group Doppelgangster
  • Podcast interviews with the writers will be available to download soon!

—– Tues Aug 25 7pm—–
‘Intoxication’ by Christopher Bryant
—– Thur Aug 27 3pm—–
LUNAR by Simone Page Jones
—– Thur Aug 27 7pm—–
‘Against Capital’ (Panel + Performance) plus David Unwin | MKA Writers Attachment 2015, Keynote Speech
—– Sat Aug 29, 5pm—–
‘Fuckin’ Hell! / I Go To Sleep Screaming’ by Lee Gambin (Founder of Sissy’s & Sluts Theatre – the originators of Trash Theatre in Melbourne)
—– Sat Aug 29-Sun Aug 30 —–
Doppelgangster & MKA present
CREMATION: On Hedgefunds, Hedgefires and Campfires Tobias Manderson-Galvin (Sire)
All night event [SOLD OUT]
—– Mon Aug 31 7pm—–
‘The Doll Hospital’ by Nathaniel Moncrieff (Sleepyhead, Tinkertown)
—– Tues Sep 01 5pm —–
‘An Act of Intimacy’ by Ruby Donohoe [free; no bookings required]
—– Wed Sep 02 7pm—–
‘Woman with A Tomahawk’ by Ruth Katerelos
—– Thur Sep 03 7pm —–
*new work* by Amelia Roper
—– Fri Sep 04 7pm —–
‘Two Lovers’ by Gareth Trew
—– Sat Sep 05 5pm —–
‘Jeremiah’s Tuesday’ by Stefan Mrowinski, performed by Steven Kennedy, before it’s NY premiere in October plus panel featuring writer, producer et al.
—– Sun Sep 06 6pm—–
‘Journey Through The Mad Mans Maze’ by Pete Reid (Old Tar Gang) [SOLD OUT]

mkalogo_subtxtjpg

The location of the next subtxt is a poorly guarded secret.

As is the program for now. Talk soon.

xx

MKA